About Us Admissions Academics Athletics Campus Life Alumni
 

Programs

Resources



 Home < Academics < Undergraduate < Division I < Faculty

Our Faculty

Faculty Emeritus

 

(Year of appointment in parentheses)


Devon Belcher (2008)
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
B.A., Reed College; M.A., Ph.D., University of Colorado

Office: Hearst 312, ext. 8375. dbelcher@oglethorpe.edu


David Buice (2004)
Accompanist and Assistant Director, Oglethorpe University Singers

B.M., University of Alabama; M.M., Converse School of Music

dbuice@oglethorpe.edu


Richard Burgess (2009)
Affiliate Artist
M.M., University of Georgia, B.M.E., University of Georgia, P.C., Berklee College of Music

Teaching and Research Interests: Guitar

rburgess@oglethorpe.edu


Jeffrey H. Collins (2002)
Senior Lecturer in Interdisciplinary Studies
University of Texas, PhD. Interdisciplinary Studies
Post-Doc Research and Grants: University of North Carolina, Western Carolina University, Princeton University, Ohio State University 

Teaching and Research Interests, Courses, Archaeological Work: art histories, anthropology, scientific humanities, interdisciplinary studies, ancient Greece, Roman archaeology, Italian renaissance, Buddhist and Hindu iconography, myth and art, 19th century European art, modern and contemporary architecture.

Research and Grant work in: modern architecture; hominid evolution; future studies, including implications of genome research, AI, nanotechnologies, global communications and singularity, ecology, future of humankind.

Office:  Robinson 107, office: 504-8313, cell: 404-573-2173.  jcollins@oglethorpe.edu 


Erin Ellis (2012)
Affiliate Artist in Violoncello

Bachelor of Music in Cello Performance – Cleveland Institute of Music
Master of Music in Cello Performance – Cleveland Institute of Music
Doctor of Musical Arts in Cello Performance – Eastman School of Music / University of Rochester

erincello@gmail.com


Patti Gouvas (2012)
Affiliate Instructor, Violin and Viola
Bachelor of Music – University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Additional studies – Georgia State University and University of Alabama

pattigouvas@aol.com


Harriette Grissom (2011)
Adjunct Instructor, Art

M.A., Ph.D., Emory University

hgrissom@oglethorpe.edu


Mary Ann Hill (2009)
Affiliate Artist
M. Mus. Ed., Syracuse University, B. Mus. Ed., Syracuse University, L’ecole Hindemith, Vevey, Switzerland, American Institute of Musical Studies, Graz, Austria

Teaching and Research Interests: Voice

mhill@oglethorpe.edu


Visit 
            Professor Loehle's 
            WebsiteAlan Loehle (2001)
Associate Professor of Art
B.F.A., University of Arizona; M.F.A., University of Georgia

Teaching and Research Interests: figurative art, abstraction, contemporary issues in visual art; ongoing series of paintings and drawings.

Office: Robinson 113, ext. 8411. aloehle@oglethorpe.edu


David Patterson (2004)
Adjunct Instructor, Communications
B.A.J., University of Georgia

dpatterson@oglethorpe.edu


Justin Pettigrew (2014)
Lecturer in Communication and Rhetoric Studies
B.A., Georgia Southern; M.A., University of Georgia, Ph.D. University of Georgia

jpettigrew@oglethorpe.edu


Sigrira Perret-Gentil (2005) Visit 
            Professor Loehle's 
            Website
Instructor in Art
B.A., Emory University; M.F.A. Georgia State University

Teaching and Research Interests: conceptual issues, film and darkroom photography (including alternative processes,) theory, digital photography and Photoshop.

Office: Robinson 103, 504-3453. spgentil@oglethorpe.edu


Amanda Printz(2012)
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
BA (Philosophy) Guilford College, 1999; PhD (Philosophy) University of Southern California, 2007

aprintz@oglethorpe.edu


W. Irwin Ray (1986)
Director of Musical Activities
B.M., Samford University; M.C.M., D.M.A., Southern Baptist Theological Seminary

Teaching and Research Interests: choral conducting, choral literature, historical styles and performance practice, accompanying, church music, music history and styles, private and class piano, class voice, music rudiments and theory, music and culture.

iray@oglethorpe.edu


Anne M. Rosenthal (1997)
Associate Professor of Communication and Rhetoric Studies
B.A., Bethel College; M.A., University of St. Thomas; Ph.D., Purdue University

Teaching and Research Interests: rhetorical theory, history, and ethics; theories and practices of persuasion; global communication; transnational literacy and citizenship; critical theory and cultural studies; historiography.

Office: Robinson 102, ext. 8532. arosenthal@oglethorpe.edu


Brent Runnels(2008)
Lecturer in Music
D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music, M.M., Manhattan School of Music, B.M., Ithaca College, Performer's Certificate, Academie Internationale D’ete

Teaching and Research Interests: Music and Culture, Piano

brunnels@oglethorpe.edu


Paul Scanling (2011)
Adjunct Instructor, Music
Affiliate Artist in Woodwinds
M.M., Georgia State University

Teaching and Research Interests: Concert winds

pscanling@oglethorpe.edu


Seema Shrikhande (2002)
Associate Professor of Communication and Rhetoric Studies (Division Chair)
B.A., Elphinstone College - India; M.A., (econ) Bombay University - India; M.A., (comm) University of Pennsylvania; Ph.D., Michigan State University

Teaching and Research Interests: Media globalization, media economics and policy, journalism studies, media and culture and research methods

Office: Robinson 101, ext. 8891. sshrikhande@oglethorpe.edu

Get to know Dr. Shrikhande in this video: "2 Minutes with Dr. Seema Shrikhande"

 
     
©2014 Oglethorpe University | 4484 Peachtree Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30319 | 404.261.1441 or 1.800.428.4484 | Privacy Policy