About Us Admissions Academics Athletics Campus Life Alumni

 Home < Administrative < Financial Aid < Endowed Funds

See Also For Traditional Undergraduates:

Endowed Scholarships

Annual Scholarships

Emergency Loan Funds

Endowed Professorships and Lecture Series

Frances I. Eeraerts Professor of Foreign Language:
This professorship was established in 1997 by a bequest from the estate of Miss Eeraerts, a non-traditional student who graduated in 1976.

Milner Director of the Center for Global Education:
The Milner endowment was established in 1988 by the Vera A. Milner Charitable Trust. The trustees of the Milner Trust, Belle Turner Lynch, class of 1961, Virginia Turner Rezetko, and Vera Turner Wells, created the professorship in honor of their aunt, Vera A. Milner. The holder of the professorship is the director of the Center for Global Education within the Atlanta Laboratory for Learning (A_LAB).

Manning M. Pattillo Jr. Professor of Liberal Arts:
This professorship was established in 1991 through the generosity of Miriam H. and John A. Conant and the John H. and Wilhelmina D. Harland Charitable Foundation in honor of Dr. Pattillo, the 13th president of Oglethorpe from 1975 to 1988. The professorship honors the work of an outstanding faculty member. A new Pattillo Professor is chosen every two years.

The Mack A. Rikard Chair in Business Administration and Economics and
Lecture Series:
The Mack A. Rikard Chair supports a scholar in business administration or economics, advancing Mr. Rikard’s own interest in the free enterprise system. The chair also coordinates the Rikard Lecture Series, aimed at helping college students understand current issues in business. Established in 1991 by Mr. Rikard, a 1937 alumnus and an honorary degree recipient, the lectures bring to campus guest speakers who are recognized leaders in their professions. The series is intended to foster in students a particular appreciation of economics.

Endowed Prize Funds

The Lu Thomasson Garrett Annual Award for Meritorious Teaching: This prize
was created in 1994 through the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. David (Lu La Thomasson) Garrett. The late Mrs. Garrett was a 1952 graduate, an Oglethorpe honorary degree recipient, and member emerita of the Board of Trustees. The prize is awarded annually to an outstanding faculty member selected by a committee of his or her peers.

The Anne Rivers Siddons Award: This fund was endowed by Anne Rivers Siddons, the celebrated novelist, former member of the Board of Trustees, Oglethorpe honorary degree recipient, and daughter of L. Marvin Rivers, a 1928 graduate. The prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior majoring in English who has submitted the best work of short fiction.

Special Purpose Named Endowed Funds

The Herman Daughtry Fund: This fund was established in 1980 by a gift from the Daughtry Foundation. It provides support for professional travel and scholarship by the President and for special projects relating to the Office of the President.

The Grenwald Faculty Salary Endowment: This fund was established in 1991 by a bequest from Edward S. Grenwald. Mr. Grenwald was a law professor before coming to Atlanta to engage in the private practice of law. He served as a member of the Oglethorpe University Board of Visitors and of the Board of Trustees. The fund is part of the University’s permanent endowment and, at Mr. Grenwald’s request, used primarily for the enhancement of faculty salaries.

The Eugene W. Ivy Endowment Fund: Established by planned gifts from Mr. Ivy, a 1949 graduate of Oglethorpe, the Fund provides unrestricted income to the University.

The National Endowment for the Humanities Core Curriculum Endowment: In 1996, Oglethorpe University was awarded a challenge grant in the amount of $300,000, which enabled the University to raise a total of $1.1 million for an endowment to support the Core Curriculum and library purchases for the Core.

The Cemal and Armagan Ozgorkey Entrepreneurial Endowment Fund: Created
in 2001 by Cemal, class of 1984, and Armagan, class of 1985, Ozgorkey, the fund supports entrepreneurial activities in the Division of Economics and Business Administration. Such activities include residencies by guest entrepreneurs and business plan competitions.

The Pattillo Faculty Lounge Endowment Fund: Created in 2000 by the Pattillo Family Foundation in honor of Manning M. Pattillo Jr., the 13th president of Oglethorpe, this fund provides a permanent source of funds to maintain and improve the Faculty Lounge on the third floor of Hearst Hall.

The Garland Pinholster Fund for Academic and Athletic Excellence: The fund was established in 1995 by friends and admirers in honor of Mr. Pinholster, who served as Athletic Director and Head Basketball Coach from 1956 to 1966. Mr. Pinholster received an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from Oglethorpe in 2004. The fund provides incremental funding beyond the Athletic Department’s normal operating budget.

The Rich Foundation Urban Leadership Program Endowment: Established in 1996 by the Rich Foundation, this endowment provides funding for the Rich Foundation Urban Leadership Program, a certificate program that challenges its participants to pursue their leadership potential while utilizing the city of Atlanta as a living laboratory.

The Philip Weltner Endowment: This fund was created in 1981 by memorials to Dr.
Philip Weltner, the sixth president of Oglethorpe. Earnings from the fund support instruction in "human understanding, citizenship, and community service," three of the pillars of the Oglethorpe curriculum during the Weltner years, 1944 to 1953.


©2015 Oglethorpe University | 4484 Peachtree Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30319 | 404.261.1441 or 1.800.428.4484 | Privacy Policy